Gluten Free Uncrustables

is this even possible?  So far I am beginning to think it is  not…….

My problem lies with a bread not being flexible enough to bend around the PB&J when pressed.

I am using a Pampered Chef gadget for tarts.

Udi and Rudi’s bread is just too small for my tart press and not sturdy enough so when I make a tart it just oozes out of all the holes.   So I decide to make my own loaf of bread, this I know I can get large enough that the tart press will only get the inside of the bread and I tried it while it was warm thinking it might be more flexible, didn’t work so I tried it while cold and it didn’t work.

How can this be done.  not sure yet. other store-bought breads are too stiff and won’t make a tart.  Am I doomed?   probably yes,  as when I googled the subject it doesn’t look too many other people have quite accomplished this yet either.  so I am destined to just cut the crust off of bread which if using store-bought bread leaves me with two bites of pb&j  but who has time to make homemade every couple of days.   I think I will play with a thin crusted or no crusted bread recipe.  not sure how but there has to be a way.

My ultimate goal was to be able to freeze these uncrustables and just pack them daily in a lunch.   I just have to keep trying.  I live for convenience and today it just didn’t work for me.

UPDATE NOTE:   not possible so I have found.  Every type of bread imaginable did not work.   so my solution glutino crackers.   I now open a package make peanut butter cracker sandwiches put 1/2 in his lunch and 1/2 for the next day.   works great and they dont’ get soggy!   Problem solved because it’s also easier to eat in the lunch room and I don’t have to worry about my kid throwing half the sandwich away!

About glutenfreealaska

Gluten Free since 2005
This entry was posted in General Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Uncrustables

  1. So I tried something that other people were doing with regular bread putting PB on both sides and a squirt of jelly in the middle and just freezing the sandwhich. Excitedly I did the whole dang loaf and guess what it don’t work on gluten free bread. A little help from anyone who has successfully done anything like what I am trying to accomplish is welcome!

Leave a Reply

