Home-Made Raisins

Have you ever tried to make home-made raisins?    This was my first try at it, and I only tried it because I had a ton of grapes that no one was eating in the house.   I don’t like grapes, but I do love raisins: weird right?  I also have a kid who will douse everything in ketchup but won’t eat a tomato……………….Crazy makes the world more interesting.

I have a handy-dandy dehydrator that I don’t use nearly as much as I should so I got it out from in the deep dark corners of my pantry and got my grapes ready.   Since I never done this I looked it up on how to do it.    Two things stuck out, you have to blanch the grapes then you have to soak them in lemon infused water.   After I did that I placed them on my dehydrator making sure none of them touched.  In fact I spread them as far apart as possible using all my layers.

{Recipe:   blanch grapes for a short time to crack the skin a little, drain, rinse and soak in lemon infused water for 10 minutes.  Pat dry and place in dehydrator, dehydrate until done.}

First off let me say this, wow it took forever!  Perhaps a bigger, stronger, more professional dehydrator may have cranked these babies out faster but my little one took almost 30 hours.   I turned it off at night and had it running all day.  I was pranoid I would burn the motor out and well I didn’t think raisins were a good enough reason to ruin a good machine.

Now let me tell you what I got,   Okay you know what I got; it was raisins.  big deal, or is it?

have you ever eaten warm fresh raisins?  Oh my goodness it is a whole new experience quite different from opening up that little red box and getting these little itty bitty dried up pieces of  fruit.   these were big, warm juicy, delicious things.  My taste buds were confused as I eat raisins all the time but these were a kicked up another notch raisin!

I am actually finishing the bowl off as I type.   so good.

Next sale of grapes I just might get me another bunch.

IMG_4444 IMG_4445 IMG_4446

About glutenfreealaska

Gluten Free since 2005
This entry was posted in General Posts, Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment